Posted by: pastorafrank | August 9, 2009

A Very Leisurely Sunday – August 9

We had a leisurely morning today.  Tom and I breakfasted in the utilitarian restaurant atop this hotel where we visited with two interesting fellows.

The older was of the origin of the people of this country, but had been born in Africa and had spent the last 35 years of his life in the UK.  He was here for a family wedding.

The younger man had two Master’s Degrees, one from this country and one from Ireland.  He’d been born in the northern part of this nation, but had most recently lived in Virginia and Georgia, as well as Minneapolis.  He is here heading up some aspect of Target’s expansion into this area.

It made for interesting conversation.

After breakfast, and after the last of the ladies had arisen, we enjoyed a worship service of sharing, singing, and prayer.

100_3170This afternoon we all took a walk down the same pathway I’d utilized two years ago when I was here with Mark Carlton to teach.  This time as we stepped across that cement drainage ditch, however, it was not a pile of human excrement or a dead rat that caught my attention in the bottom of the gutter.  It was a live rat the size of a tomcat.  It scurried quickly among the refuse and exited the ditch through a hole half its size in the concrete sidewall.  It had only about a fourth of its tail.

Of course I had to call the attention of the ladies to my sighting, but they gamely crossed the ditch anyway.

We walked and shopped for a couple of hours, taking in interesting sights that included a cow coming down the sidewalk and four men trying to open a clogged sewer.

100_3157I stopped to talk with them a bit.  Plugged up?  I said.  Ya ya, a jam, one of them said.  I got an interesting couple of photos out of that encounter.

And then, on the return trip, perhaps the saddest thing we saw on the whole excursion.  There in the middle of the sidewalk were the remains of perhaps a distant cousin of the rodent I saw in the drainage ditch.100_3163

All shopping trips should be so interesting.   But, of course, I am being facetious.

All in all a very restful and relaxing Lord’s Day here.  As I write this it is 5:47 Sunday morning for you all, while we are preparing to go to The Only Place for an early dinner (5 pm or so) of filet mignon.

Tomorrow the pace will be considerably more frenetic.


Responses

  1. We are praying for your mother during our services this morning at BBBC–asking God to be very gentle with her.
    Warmly,
    Larry

    • Thanks so much, Larry. Wish you guys were here.

  2. Why was the sight of the dead rat so sad? It certainly wouldn’t make me sad.

    I’m at Andy & Steph’s, and we’re praying for you and thinking about you.

    Pappa and Grandma Luana,
    uyhgcsa gyu4tuffrewtr (I hope you are having a good trip and a good day. I hope you see some dolphins.) jt76uryu6ytriugf (I love you.)

    Love,
    hannah

    • That poor rat – his life cut short, squashed like a bug! We probably won’t see any dolphins, Hannah. We’re not near the ocean anymore.

  3. Great to have you back!! Sounds like you and Mom are having a great time, and enjoying your chicken. You are in our prayers daily as is Grandma.

    Nate

  4. Thanks for taking the time to post. It’s a lot cheaper way for the rest of us to share the experience.

    • Is this you, Jon Wymer?

  5. Seriously?!?! With knowing the issues that some of us have with small furry vermin, you thought it necessary to write AND show a picture of that….that…. thing?!?!? 🙂 Give yourselves a hug from all of us! We’re praying for both of you and your family, especially your mom. God is good, all of the time!

    • Yeah, Jill – I guess I forgot about who all would be checking the blog out. But, anyway – it wasn’t furry in the picture 🙂 Thanks for the hugs. Just finished a long first day at this location. Picking up The Bear at the airport at 11:55 pm.

  6. Reading your blogs is almost like being there with you!

    • Glad you could come along with me. Anonymous – are you my daughter?

      • No- that was not me. I was the anonymous in the first anonymous post. I’m now just your daughter. Stopped by your house today on my way home from Andy and Steph’s. Picked some of your tomatoes and a lot of jalopenos. The tomatoes are just turning. Had a wonderful time in Holdrege. Crawdads beware! Miss you both tremendously!

      • Enjoy the toms. The neighbors were also told to help themselves, so there’ve been a lot more ripen than what it appeared to you, I suppose. Miss you too, Shorty. We’re on the downhill run here – 2nd day in Bangalore. Precious people.


Leave a comment

Categories